New appointments for Meetings & Events Australia board

Meetings & Events Australia

Meetings & Events Australia (MEA) has announced new board members following its annual general meeting.

The new board members are Alicia Thomas (Royal International Convention Centre) Emma McDowell (Saxton Speakers Bureau); Vanessa Green (Cliftons); Thomas Staunton (SoldOut Events); and Mike Schrafft (VMS Event & Conference Logistics).

They join Chair Michael Firman; Deputy Chair Megan Peters; Treasurer Paul Davison; and Company Secretary (and CEO) Peter McDonald.

Jess Glass of The University of Queensland will also continue on the MEA Board for a third year.

“In my first year as Chair I have been blessed to work with an extraordinary Board who reflect the passion and excellence of those in our sector,” said Firman.

“I would like to thank the departing directors, Vice Chair Beverley Williamson for her extraordinary energy, strength of character and balanced approach, as well as Tina Eggers, Vicky Troptsidis and Matthew Traynor for their commitment, leadership and hard work during their tenures on the Board.

“It’s already exciting to see the enthusiasm of the new directors and I welcome their appointment to the Board.”

McDonald said the new additions to the Board represent “a good cross-section of industry”.

“I look forward to working with the new Board to build upon that foundation for the betterment of the MEA membership, and larger Australian events community,” he said.

MEA has also opened its Awards program for events held during both 2021 and 2022.

“Due to the reduced body of work by the industry because of the pandemic, MEA deemed that an awards program for 2021 in isolation was not in the best interests of past or future winners,” MEA said.

“MEA looks forward to the industry’s coming together to honour the achievements of colleagues, peers, and the wider community over the past two years returning via State and National Award presentations in 2023.”

The awards submission portal is now open for a total of 38 awards across 9 categories, including three brand-new Awards: Virtual Event of the Year, Skilling Program of the Year and Event Educator of the Year.

The Awards will be presented alongside the National Awards at the gala dinner following MEA’s annual conference Evolve 2023 on 8 June.