Korea ditches K-ETA for Australian and Kiwi travellers


Korea has ditched its requirements for Australians and Kiwis to apply for Korea’s Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) when travelling to the country until 31 December, 2024.

Twenty-two countries are temporarily exempt out of the 110 visa-free countries typically required to have K-ETA when entering South Korea in celebration of Visit Korea Year 2023-2024, a government initiative to attract more tourists to South Korea.

For nationals of countries that are not exempt, K-ETA must be applied for online at least 72 hours prior to departure to South Korea and approved ahead of travel.

Existing K-ETAs will be valid until their original expiration date two years after issuance.

The full list of 22 countries temporarily exempt from K-ETA are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Macao, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, UK and US (including Guam).