John Harnden to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

John Harnden is set to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award during the Australian Event Awards Online Ceremony.

Harnden is the CEO of the Melbourne & Olympic Parks Trust, responsible for the management of Australia’s largest sports and entertainment precinct, including Rod Laver Arena, AAMI Park – and home of the Australian Open.

He has over 30 years’ experience heading up major sporting, entertainment, media and tourism organisations.

Throughout his more than 30 year career, Harnden has worked as Chair of the Australian Grand Prix Corporation, chief executive of the ICC 2015 World Cup Organising Committee, South Australian Cricket Association, Village Roadshow International Theme Parks, the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games and has also served as chief executive of the Australian Grand Prix Corporation.

In 2007, he was awarded an Order of Australia for services to sport for his work on the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games, and in 2020 he was given lifetime membership of Motorsport Australia.

Currently, Harnden is working as the Chair of ICC 2022 T20 World Cup Organising Committee and a Director of Cricket Australia.

“I’m grateful and humbled to join the ranks of so many esteemed colleagues who have been honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award,” he said.

“In my career I’ve had the privilege to work across events, sports, tourism and venue management, and the one thing they have in common is that they all rely on great team work. I’ve been very fortunate to work with some of the most talented and dedicated people in the sector.”

From tonight until October 31, short video broadcasts announcing the Finalists and National Winner of one category will be published on the Awards’ YouTube channel each evening.

Tonight, the broadcasts will kick off with three category announcements – Best Live or Hybrid Corporate Event at 6pm (AEDT), Best Online Event Delivery Platform at 7pm (AEDT) & Best Virtual Small Event at 8pm (AEDT). The remainder of October will see two categories announced per night, at 6pm (AEDT) and 8pm (AEDT).