Dominic Perrottet elected NSW Premier

Dominic Perrottet is the new Premier for NSW.

Dominic Perrottet will become the next NSW Premier after winning the Liberal Party leadership following Gladys Berejiklian’s shock departure on Friday.

John Barilaro also announced he will step down as deputy premier of NSW and leader of the NSW Nationals to leave politics altogether.

Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney Stuart Ayres will now become Perrottet’s deputy and Matt Kean will be promoted to Treasurer.

Perrottet said it was an honour to be elected in his new role.

“I really appreciate the trust that my colleagues are putting in me,” he said.

“It is my hope that I will continue the strong leadership that Gladys has shown throughout this pandemic.”

Berejiklian announced her decision to step down as premier shortly after corruption watchdog ICAC announced it would investigate her.

Perrottet said he would continue in the former leader’s footsteps to ensure the state came out of lockdown soon.

“The interests of the people of NSW must always come first, and the priority for the government is to ensure we continue to keep people safe, and that we reopen the economy and get people back to work, kids back to school, and life back to normal as fast as possible,” he said.