Winners announced for 2019 Aspire Awards

The Perth Convention Bureau (PCB) has announced the winners of this year’s Aspire Awards, with 10 recipients honoured out of 60 applicants.

Held at the Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre, Mourad Khalil was the winner of the 2019 City of Perth Convention Scholarship.

As the WA Branch Executive of the Australian Information Security Association, Khalil has led growth in the association in WA, and seen their annual conference become the largest information technology and security conference in Western Australia. Additionally, he has been instrumental in the creation of the community based, volunteer-run cyber security festival, ‘WA CyberWeek.’

Award winners included Ana Doria-Buchan (Shipwreck Museum) and Cindy Cranswick (University of Notre Dame) winners of the City of Fremantle award; Dr Srimathy Vijayan winner of the inaugural Perron Institute Award; Hayley Passmore & Penelope Strauss (Telethon Kids Institute) winners of the Telethon Kids Institute Conference Award; the University Professional Development Award Winners; Francesco Lo Surdo (Edith Cowan University), Dr Renita Almeida (Murdoch University), Dr Marie-Lise Schlappy (The University of Western Australia), and Dr Justine Leavy (Curtin University); Thea Kurniawan (TEDxUWA) winner of Giving West Scholarship; Dr Vita Akstinaite (Murdoch University) and Jeremy Maher (City of Bayswater) winners of the Australian Institute of Management WA Conference Award and Serge DeSilva-Ranasinghe (WA Defence Review) and Josef Ignacio Czeschka Rojas (University of Western Australia) winners of the Defence West Award.

“The program has been responsible for contributing more than $120 million in delegate spend to the WA economy but more importantly, the program profiles the State’s broad expertise and the diversified economic and social impacts from assisting leading researchers, clinicians and academics who are vital to the future of our State,” said Perth Convention Bureau acting CEO Gareth Martin.

To apply for 2020 contact Malcolm Farrell-Mitchell at [email protected]  or visit website