WA’s Aspire Awards winners announced

(L-R) Perth Mayor Basil Zempilas, Aspire Award winner Dr Bayode Ero-Phillips and BEPerth CEO Gareth Martin.

Business Events Perth has announced this year’s ’s Aspire Awards winners with 11 Western Australian researchers, academics and professionals set to receive grants of up to $10,000 to support them in attending international conferences.

“The 2021 Aspire Award winners represent the diversity of Western Australia’s research and entrepreneurial strengths, and really exemplify the innovation that is making WA world-renowned in so many fields,” said Business Events Perth chief executive Gareth Martin.

“The research and developments coming out of Western Australia show that our State is truly an incubator for knowledge, and Business Events Perth’s Aspire Awards provide opportunities each year for our brightest minds to showcase this knowledge on a global platform.”

Martin said that the 2021 Aspire Award winners ranged from cancer researchers to a local veterinarian who is changing the future of animal care.

“We’ve got people like Professor Jonas Nilsson, who is looking at cutting edge treatments for advanced melanoma, which as we know is a big issue here in Australia with our sunny climate, to Dr Garnett Hall, who is revolutionising the way veterinary care works through his signature VetChip biosensor, which is in the process of commercialising the world’s first implantable health monitor for dogs,” he said.

“We’re incredibly proud to be supporting our 2021 Aspire winners to attend international conferences once overseas travel resumes, where they will meet with other leaders in their fields and potentially bring those conferences back to Western Australia.”

The 2021 Aspire Award winners:

City of Perth Aspire Award winner: Dr Bayode Ero-Phillips
Curtin University Aspire Award winner: Dr Leo Ng
Defence West Aspire Award winner: Adam Bennett
Edith Cowan University Aspire Award winner: Dr Sanjay Kumar Shukla
Harry Perkins Institute Aspire Award winner: Professor Jonas Nilsson
Murdoch University Aspire Award winner: Dr Wei Xu
Perron Institute Aspire Award winner: Dr Sarah Hellewell
Telethon Kids Institute Aspire Award winner: Dr Jessica Buck
The University of Notre Dame Australia Aspire Award winner: Dr Jenny Conlon
The University of Western Australia Aspire Award winner: Dr Amanda Cleaver
THIS IS FREMANTLE Aspire Award winner: Dr Garnett Hall