Travel ban extends to South Korea, Italy gets restrictions

South Korea has been added to Australia’s coronavirus travel ban list, joining China and Iran.

The Federal Government has also put in restrictions for travellers from Italy who will face advanced screening at check-in and when they land in Australia.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has confirmed that the existing ban on foreign nationals travelling from China and Iran to Australia has been extended for another week.

The revised bans will be in place until March 14 but the Government will review the situation within a week to determine if the travel restrictions need to be extended further.

Foreign nationals who have been in mainland China, Iran and South Korea are not allowed into Australia for 14 days from the time they left those countries.