States and territories move to close their borders

South Australia is set to close its borders from the rest of the nation from Tuesday in an effort to slow down the escalation of coronavirus.

Premier Steven Marshall announced the closures will take effect from 4pm Tuesday, with all people entering the state forced into 14-day isolation or face severe penalties.

“We do not make this decision lightly, but we have no choice,” Marshall said.

“What we are trying to do here is massively reduce the peak of the coronavirus impact and push it out into the future as far as possible.

“There’s still no evidence in South Australia of community transmission and this is something that we must protect.”

The announcement follows a recent spike in infections after 10 American tourists touring the Barossa tested positive for Covid-19 two days ago.

The group of 18 tourists travelled through the eastern states before arriving in Adelaide.

Tasmania was the first to announce its will effectively close its borders from Tuesday and make all new visitors self-isolate for 14 days, with the NT Government also indidcating it will follow in their footsteps. Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk also announced the border between her state and the NT was closed.