MEA shake-up sees new board members

The Meetings & Events Australia (MEA) board has a raft of new faces after the resignation of three incumbent directors Nigel Collin, Kirsty Forbes and Paula Nolan.

Michael Firman (Harry the hirer) was elected as the new Chair, Beverley Williamson (Melbourne Convention Bureau) is the new Deputy Chair and Paul Davison (SMC Conference & Function Centre) is the new Treasurer.

Nine candidates also put themselves forward at MEA’s annual general meeting with Megan Peters (Lateral Event Management), Tina Eggers (The Venues Collection) and Vicky Troptsidis joining the board as directors.

MEA CEO Peter McDonald has taken on the role of Company Secretary.

Departing MEA chair Nigel Collin said MEA and its members “are in safe and capable hands”.

“The calibre of nominations received for MEA Board positions this year is indicative of the strength and tenacity of our sector,” he said.

“I am proud to have played a part in serving MEA members and the industry through the challenging Covid times, and for their efforts, passion, and vision I want to thank the Board members I worked alongside, Team MEA, and those others who gave their support in my time as Chair.”

Incoming MEA Chair Michael Firman said 2022 was set to be “the year of recovery and growth”.

“As I reflect on what MEA means to me, MEA is the coach, the connector, the cheerleader; it is a community of industry leaders and like-minded individuals with shared experiences, challenges and aspirations,” he said.

Firman also thanked the three departing board members for their commitment during such a challenging time.

“The impact of the pandemic on the MEA business has been heavy,” he said.

“A debt of gratitude is owed to each of them for the active hands-on role they played to keep the business operating throughout, in addition to the thought leadership they contributed during Board discussions. We wish them every success as they refocus their professional attention.”