MEA announces scholarship recipients

Meetings & Events Australia has announced 12 recipients of the 2020 MEA Diploma of Event Management Scholarship program.

Now in its third year, the scholarship program is designed to upskill and create more job opportunities for people living in regional communities across New South Wales.

The new students will undertake the Diploma via an online portal and have access to face-to-face workshops every 10 weeks, ‘boot camps’ and webinars to support them during their study.

“MEA looks forward to welcoming its third intake of regional students at a time when creating skills is key to enhancing career opportunities in regional NSW where growth in events is expected due to restrictions and uncertainty about overseas travel,” MEA CEO Robyn Johnson said.

The initiative is part of the NSW Government’s $6 million Regional Conferencing Strategy and Action Plan.

“The business events sector presents a major opportunity for the visitor economy of regional NSW, particularly as we steer our path to recovery,” said NSW Tourism Minister Stuart Ayres.

“We know that the best way forward is helping to create more jobs and these scholarships will do exactly that – giving people the tools and extra support needed to kick-start their careers in the field of event management.”

The MEA scholarship program recipients are:

Aaron Bykerk – Albury

James Rodgers – Branxton

Joe Ann Williams – Nelson Bay

Jumana Schriefer – Coffee Camp

Kelly Brown – Burrill Lake

Kersti Martin – Thirlmere

Leesa Peck – Moonbi

Magdalena Mager – Casino

Miriam Hewson – Adelong

Sara Wightman – Queanbeyan

Shannan Botten – Broken Hill

Stevie Smith – Cobargo