Australian Physiotherapy Association wins top gong at Association Awards

Association Awards

The Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA) was named Association of the Year at the 2022 Association Awards held at the Sydney Masonic Centre earlier this week.

APA represents the interests of over 39,000 Australian physiotherapists and their patients.

Despite the challenges presented by the pandemic and remote working conditions of all staff, the APA achieved a strong surplus and retention and growth in their number of members.

Small Association of the Year 2022 was awarded to the Ricegrowers’ Association of Australia, which represents more than 1,200 voluntary members, supporting growers on issues affecting the viability of their business and communities.

The Australian Aged Care Collaboration (AACC) was awarded the 2022 Association External Campaign of the Year. The AACC is a group of six aged care peak bodies and collectively represents more than 1,000 organisations that are responsible for roughly 70 per cent of the services delivered to the 1.3 million Australians receiving aged care.

Huntington’s NSW ACT was awarded the 2022 Association Turnaround of the Year.

Julie Barker, Adrian Hart, Ken Morrison, Margy Osmond and Wendy Rowland were inducted into the Associations Hall of Fame for their long and exemplary service to associations.

John Peacock, CEO of Associations Forum, said that the Association Awards have had record applications this most difficult of years, with severe impacts on revenue and association resources.

“Associations Forum is proud to play a role in honouring achievement and contribution through the Association Awards and Hall of Fame as associations are an often unsung and under recognised sector of society,” he said.